Drools Planner optimizes automated planning

June 15th, 2011 | 16:00 UTC, 12:00 Noon Boston, 9:00 San Francisco, 12:00 Midnight

Part of the JBoss Developer Webinar Series.

It solves use cases such as:

  • bin packing: filling containers, trucks, ships, cloud computer nodes
  • vehicle/freight/people routing: planning trucks, trains, airplanes, travelling salesmen, repairmen
  • employee shift rostering: rostering nurses, repairmen
  • agenda scheduling: scheduling courses, exams, conference presentations, maintenance jobs, advertisements
  • job shop scheduling: planning assembly lines for building cars, devices
  • cutting stock: cutting paper, steel, carpet
  • sport scheduling: planning football leagues, baseball leagues

This presentation will:

  • demonstrate some of the use cases and their Drools Planner examples.
  • explain some of the characteristics of these problems, known as NP-complete or NP-hard problems, such as the very surprising search space size.
  • talk about how Drools Planner handles these problems.
  • show how Drools Planner optimizes a lot further than common implementations.

For more information about Drools Planner take a look at the homepage:

Presenter: Geoffrey De Smet
Geoffrey is a Software Engineer at Red Hat. He's the Drools Planner lead, since he founded it in 2006. He has over 8 years of Java experience and recently joined Red Hat to work on Drools, Guvnor and Planner.

Host: Burr Sutter, Sr. Product Manager, Developer Experience/Tools
Burr Sutter is a current Sun Java Champion, former president of the Atlanta Java Users Group and founder of the Atlanta Chapter of the International Association of Software Architects. He has over 20 years of software design and development experience along with numerous published articles, book chapters, and developer conference speaking engagements.


First Name*

Last Name*




I'd like to receive news from Red Hat / JBoss.

JBoss Developer Newsletter